Virtual Summit on Resilient and Regenerative Food Systems

October 16th - 30th 2020
Virtual Event

Virtual Summit on Resilient and Regenerative Food Systems

October 16th - 30th 2020
Virtual Event

Addressing climate risks and food security in the face of COVID-19 and beyond

What are the key impacts on food security? How can we address them? Are climate and disaster risks on the food systems addressed effectively? What mechanisms are there at national and global level for climate and disaster risk transfer? How has COVID-19 affected resilience of the food systems? What examples and lessons can be replicated to address risks to food security at national and global levels?

Inclusive partnerships for sustainable and regenerative food systems

What are sustainable and regenerative food systems? What are the key elements to achieving them? What challenges do we face in achieving these targets? How can we build partnerships and networks? How can we work together to achieve sustainability and resilience in the food systems?

Just transition in the food sector

What does just transition look like in the food sector? What are the key elements related to just transition? What are the challenges to achieving just transition in the food sector? How are countries addressing climate mitigation and adaptation in the food sectors? Are countries focusing on just transition, and what steps are taking to ensure this transition?

Keynote Speeches

19th October 2020 | 3pm IST/9.30am GMT

19th October 2020 | 6.30pm IST/1pm GMT

Dr. Youssef Nassef

Director
Adaptation Division
UNFCCC Secretariat

Watch

19th October 2020 | 6.30pm IST/1pm GMT

Dr. Rattan Lal

Distinguished University Professor
Ohio State University

Director
Carbon Management and Sequestration Center
(C-MASC)

Watch

20th October 2020 | 7pm - 8pm IST/ 1.30pm - 2.30pm GMT

Mr. James Ehrlich

Founder
ReGen Villages
Entrepreneur in Residence Stanford University

Watch

26th October 4.30pm - 5.30pm IST/ 11am - 12pm GMT

Dr. Catherine Lilian Nakalembe

Africa Program Director
NASA Harvest Programme

Assistant Research Professor
University of Maryland

Register

28th October 4.00pm - 5.00pm IST/ 10.30am - 11.30am GMT

Dr. Anna Grichting

Senior Research Fellow
University of Vermont

Register

Panel Discussions

21st October 2020 |  4pm - 5.30pm IST/10.30am - 12pm GMT

Addressing climate risks and food security in the face of COVID-19 and beyond

What are the key impacts on food security? How can we address them? Are climate and disaster risks on the food systems addressed effectively? What mechanisms are there at national and global level for climate and disaster risk transfer? How has COVID-19 affected resilience of the food systems? What examples and lessons can be replicated to address risks to food security at national and global levels?

Dr. Sandra Piesik

Director
Architect 3 ideas B.V.

Dr. Marcelo Inacio da Cunha

Programme Officer
UNFCCC Secretariat

Mr. Dennis Mombauer

Director
Research and Education
SLYCAN Trust

22nd October 2020 | 5.30pm - 7pm IST/ 12pm-1.30pm GMT

Just transition in the food sector

What does just transition look like in the food sector? What are the key elements related to just transition? What are the challenges to achieving just transition in the food sector? How are countries addressing climate mitigation and adaptation in the food sectors? Are countries focusing on just transition, and what steps are taking to ensure this transition?

Dr. Vintura Silva

Regional Lead
Regional Collaboration Centre St George’s
UNFCCC

Mr. Happy Khambule

Director
Mansa

Mr. Duncan Williams

Freelance food systems and sustainability advisor
Nourishing Food Systems

Ms. Tina Johnson

Principal
Johnson Strategy and Development

Director
National Black Environmental Justice Network

23rd October | 3pm - 4.30pm IST/9.30am -11am GMT

Just transition in the food sector

What does just transition look like in the food sector? What are the key elements related to just transition? What are the challenges to achieving just transition in the food sector? How are countries addressing climate mitigation and adaptation in the food sectors? Are countries focusing on just transition, and what steps are taking to ensure this transition?

Dr. Teresa Anderson

Climate Policy Coordinator
ActionAid International

Ms. Fleur Newman

Action Empowerment Unit Lead
Gender Focal Point and Focal Point for Women
UNFCCC Secretariat

23rd October | 6.30pm - 8pm IST/1pm - 2.30pm GMT

Addressing climate risks and food security in the face of COVID-19 and beyond

What are the key impacts on food security? How can we address them? Are climate and disaster risks on the food systems addressed effectively? What mechanisms are there at national and global level for climate and disaster risk transfer? How has COVID-19 affected resilience of the food systems? What examples and lessons can be replicated to address risks to food security at national and global levels?

Mr. Soenke Kreft

Executive Director
Munich Climate Insurance Initiative

Kairos T. dela Cruz

Associate for Climate Policy
Institute for Climate and Sustainable Cities

27th of October, 04.00-5.30 pm IST/10.30 am-12.00 pm GMT

Inclusive partnerships for sustainable and regenerative food systems

What are sustainable and regenerative food systems? What are the key elements to achieving them? What challenges do we face in achieving these targets? How can we build partnerships and networks? How can we work together to achieve sustainability and resilience in the food systems?

Ms. Laura Cascada

Campaigns Director
Better Food Foundation

Mr. David Pedersen

Senior Strategist
50by40

Mr. Damitha Samarakoon

Senior Programme Manager
SLYCAN Trust

29th of October, 04.00-5.00 pm IST/10.30 am-11.30 am GMT

Inclusive partnerships for sustainable and regenerative food systems

What are sustainable and regenerative food systems? What are the key elements to achieving them? What challenges do we face in achieving these targets? How can we build partnerships and networks? How can we work together to achieve sustainability and resilience in the food systems?

Dr. Thusitha Sugathapala

Senior Consultant
Climate Change and Sustainable Development
SLYCAN Trust

Dr. Amanda Katili Niode

Manager
Climate Reality Project Indonesia

Co-Founder
Omar Niode Foundation

World Food Day 2020

Interviews

16th October 2020 | 10am - 10.45am IST/ 4.30am - 5.15am GMT

Interview: Agriculture, impacts of climate change and food security

Prof. Buddhi Marambe

Senior Professor
Research and Education
University of Peradeniya

16th October 2020 | 11am - 11.45am IST/ 5.30am - 6.15am GMT

Interview: Food Security, Climate & Disaster Risk Management

Dr. Ranjith Punyawardena

Senior Scientist
Department of Agriculture
University of Peradeniya

16th October 2020 | 12pm -12.15pm IST/6.30am-6.45am GMT

Presentation: Addressing Climate Change, and Making Cruelty-free Food Choices

Medium: Sinhala

Ms. Chalani Marasinghe

Programme & Research Officer
SLYCAN Trust

16th October 2020 | 12:30pm - 01:30pm IST / 7am-8.30am GMT

Panel Discussion: Cruelty-free and Sustainable Food Entrepreneurship

What is the motivation to engage in food entrepreneurship? How are sustainable and ethical production taken into account in businesses? How is Sri Lanka’s market for cruelty-free sustainable food?

Ms. Anjala Fernando

Founder
Food Snaps

Mr. Sidath Dharmapala

Co-Founder
Bohemian Quest

16th October 2020 | 2pm -2.15pm IST/8.30am-8.45am GMT

Presentation: Cruelty-free Food Choices

Medium: Tamil

Ms. Thadshajiny Kandasamy

Assistant Manager
Programme & Research Officer
SLYCAN Trust

16th October 2020 | 2.30pm - 3.30pm IST: 9am - 10am GMT

Panel Discussion: Plant-based and cruelty-free food

What are the plant-based and cruelty-free food options that are available? Why are people moving towards a plant-based diet? What implications do our food choices have on our health, and the planet?

Mr. Raphael Podselver

Political Outreach
ProVeg International

Ms. Sunanda Weerasinghe

Managing Director
Sujan International Pvt Ltd

Mr. Jerome Cooray

Co-Founder and Lead
Praxis & People of the Goal One Twelve/ The Garden Mart

16th October 2020 | 4pm - 5pm IST:  10.30am - 11.30am GMT

Panel Discussion: Home-gardening and Food Security

Medium: Sinhala

How can we achieve food security? Will home-gardening contribute to this? What technical knowledge is needed? What challenges do we face in trying to conduct home-gardening?

Mr. Udaya De Silva

Veteran Agronomist and Home gardening Expert

Mr. Damitha Samarakoon

Senior Programme Manager
SLYCAN Trust

16th October 2020 | 6.30pm - 7.30pm IST:  1pm - 2pm GMT

Panel Discussion: Building Partnerships for Plant-based Food Systems

Medium: Sinhala

How can our food be sustainable and cruelty-free? What is the importance of building partnerships, and working together to ensure that food is sustainable, ethical, and cruelty-free?

Ms. Sue Iruge

Co-Administrator
VeganSL

Mr. Gihan Dinushka

Founder
Baw Baw Association and Cafe

Gender and Diversity Policy

The organisers have strived to ensure gender balance, and diversity of speakers in the Virtual Summit. This has been an effort relevant to both keynote speakers as well as panelists. The organisers would like to express regret for any gaps in achieving the objective of gender balance, diversity and representation due to any reasons unforeseen, including time constraints, non-availability of speakers. While the organisers apologise for this, they wish to inform that active efforts are being made to ensure gender-balance, diversity and increased representation in the summit.